WWE Extreme Rules 2017 Results: Highlights, Analysis, and Grades

1 of 8

Follow along with our review of the WWE Extreme Rules pay-per-view.

On Sunday night, the 2017 WWE Extreme Rules pay-per-view will take place. It’s Raw’s second exclusive show since WrestleMania 33, and will feature matches with implications toward the summer shows.

Brock Lesnar has been away from WWE programming since the night after WrestleMania 33, so he has yet to defend the WWE Universal Championship. While that won’t change on Sunday night, his next opponent will be set up, likely for July’s Great Balls of Fire PPV.

The match to determine this will see Bray Wyatt, Finn Balor, Roman Reigns, Seth Rollins and Samoa Joe battle in a fatal five-way. This will also main event Extreme Rules. Who will walk out as the winner?

In a Vince Russo special, Alexa Bliss and Bayley will battle in a Kendo Stick-on-a-Pole match for the Raw Women’s Championship. This is Bayley’s rematch, as she lost the belt to Bliss at April’s Payback PPV.

The Hardys vs. Cesaro and Sheamus will happen again, for the Raw Tag Team Championship, except they’ll be battling in a Steel Cage match. Cesaro and Sheamus have yet to top Team Extreme in tag or singles competition, so they’ll look to have things go in their favor on Sunday night.

These three matches will join three others. The full list of them can be seen below for Extreme Rules:

No. 1 Contenders Match for the WWE Universal Championship
Bray Wyatt vs. Finn Balor vs. Roman Reigns vs. Seth Rollins vs. Samoa Joe

Kendo Stick-on-a-Pole Match for the Raw Women’s Championship
Alexa Bliss (c) vs. Bayley

WWE Intercontinental Championship Match
Dean Ambrose (c) vs. The Miz

Steel Cage Match for the Raw Tag Team Championship
The Hardys (c) vs. Cesaro and Sheamus

Submission Match for the WWE Cruiserweight Championship
Neville (c) vs. Austin Aries

Sasha Banks and Rich Swann vs. Alicia Fox and Noam Dar

More wwe: Ranking All 16 Superstars to Win MITB

Follow along with our coverage of Extreme Rules, beginning at 7:00 p.m. ET, with the Kickoff Show. The main part of the night will kick off at 8:00 p.m. ET.