Morning Report: Confirmed Smackdown Matches, WWE Network, Today In History & More


– Here are tonight’s confirmed WWE Smackdown matches:

* AJ Lee vs. Naomi
* Fandango vs. Adam Rose
* The Usos vs. Heath Slater and Titus O’Neil
* Randy Orton vs. Chris Jericho
* Layla vs. Summer Rae
* Ryback vs. Goldust
* Handicap Match: Bo Dallas vs. Diego and Torito
* Roman Reigns vs. Rusev

– Here is today’s streaming content on the WWE Network:

  • 12am EST – WWE NXT replay
  • 1am EST – Warrior: The Ultimate Legend
  • 2am EST – WWE Main Event replay
  • 3am EST – RAW Flashback: 3/6/1995
  • 4am EST – RAW Flashback: 3/13/1995
  • 5am EST – ECW Hardcore TV: 10/4/1994
  • 6am EST – Royal Rumble 2014
  • 9am EST – RAW Flashback: 3/13/1995
  • 10am EST – RAW Flashback: 3/20/1995
  • 11am EST – Legends House replay
  • 12pm EST – Legends House replay
  • 1pm EST – Total Divas replay
  • 2pm EST – Warrior: The Ultimate Legend
  • 3pm EST – WWE Superstars new episode
  • 4pm EST – WWE NXT replay
  • 5pm EST – WWE Main Event replay
  • 6pm EST – Best of RAW: 9/27/1998
  • 8pm EST – Beyond The Ring: Steve Austin
  • 10:30pm EST – WrestleMania 13: Austin vs. Hart Special
  • 11pm EST – Beyond The Ring: Steve Austin

– Here is your pro wrestling history lesson of the day:

One-time AWA World Champion ‘The Destroyer’ Dick Beyer turns 83 today.

One-time WCW Tag Team Champion Butch Reed turns 59 today.

Former WWE Tag Team Champion Tyson Kidd turns 33 today.

1961: Gene Kiniski defeated Verne Gagne to win the AWA World Title.

1983: Chris Adams defeated The Mongol to win the WCCW Television Title.

1987: Lex Luger defeated Nikita Koloff to win the NWA United States Title.

1999: WCW Bash At The Beach was held at the National Car Rental Center, in Fort Lauderdale, Florida. 13,624 were in attendance and here are the results:

* Ernest Miller (with Sonny Onoo) defeated Disco Inferno
* Rick Steiner defeated Van Hammer to retain the WCW Television Title
* David Flair (with Samantha (Torrie Wilson), Ric Flair, Arn Anderson, & Double D.) defeated Dean Malenko to retain the WCW United States Title
* The No Limit Soldiers (Rey Mysterio Jr., Konnan, Swoll, & Brad Armstrong) defeated The West Texas Rednecks (Bobby Duncum Jr., Curt Hennig, Kendall & Barry Windham) in an Elimination Match
* Fit Finlay won a Junkyard Invitational Match to win the WCW Hardcore Trophy (Defeated: Jerry Flynn, Ciclope, Johnny Grunge, Hak, Horace Hogan, La Parka, Hugh Morrus, Lord Steven Regal, Rocco Rock, Silver King, Squire Dave Taylor, Mikey Whipwreck
* The Jersey Triad (Bam Bam Bigelow, Diamond Dallas Page, & Chris Kanyon) defeated Perry Saturn & Chris Benoit to retain the WCW World Tag Team Titles
* Buff Bagwell (with Judy Bagwell) defeated Roddy Piper (with Ric Flair) in a Boxing Match with Mills Lane as special guest referee
* Randy Savage & Sid Vicious (with Madusa & Miss Elizabeth) defeated Kevin Nash & Sting (with Gorgeous George). Savage pinned Nash to win the WCW World Title

2004: WWE Vengeance was a Raw-exclusive event held at the Hartford Civic Center, in Hartford, Connecticut. 7,000 were in attendance and here are the results:

* Rhyno & Tajiri defeated Garrison Cade & Jonathan Coachman
* Batista defeated Chris Jericho
* La Resistance (Robert Conway & Sylvain Grenier) defeated Ric Flair & Eugene via DQ to retain the World Tag Team Titles
* Matt Hardy (with Lita) defeated Kane in a No-DQ Match
* Edge defeated Randy Orton to win the WWE Intercontinental Title
* Victoria defeated Molly Holly
* Chris Benoit defeated Triple H to retain the World Heavyweight Title

2007: Jim Ross opened Jr’s BBQ.

2007: WWE released referee Chris Kay.

2009: Brock Lesnar defeated Frank Mir in the second round of their UFC 100 main event in Las Vegas, becoming the undisputed UFC champion.

2010: TNA Victory Road was held at the Impact Zone, in Orlando, Florida.

* Douglas Williams defeated Brian Kendrick in an Ultimate X & Submission Match to retain the TNA X-Division Title
* Brother Ray defeated Brother Devon & Jesse Neal in a 3-way Match
* Angelina Love defeated Madison Rayne in a Title vs Career Match to win the TNA Knockouts Title
* AJ Styles & Kazarian defeated Samoa Joe & Rob Terry
* Hernandez defeated Matt Morgan in a Cage Match
* Jay Lethal defeated Ric Flair
* The Motor City Machine Guns (Alex Shelley & Chris Sabin) defeated Beer Money Inc. (James Storm & Robert Roode) to win the vacant TNA World Tag Team Titles
* Kurt Angle defeated “Pope” D’Angelo Dinero
* Rob Van Dam defeated Jeff Hardy, Mr. Anderson, & Abyss in a 4-Way Match to retain the TNA World Title

2011: The Young Bucks were released by TNA.

2011: Sting defeated Mr. Anderson to win the TNA World Title.