WWE Royal Rumble 2016: 4 Early Choices to Win and Headline WrestleMania 32

2 of 7


Stat No. 1

Six of the past eight Royal Rumble winners have lost their title match at WrestleMania. John Cena (WrestleMania 29) and Sheamus (WrestleMania 28) are the two who have been successful.

Yes, the Royal Rumble still means something but maybe not as much if these stars are constantly losing their title match. It could also be WWE backing away from the decision they made months earlier.

Stat No. 2

WWE doesn’t often let rising stars win the Royal Rumble. Roman Reigns’ win earlier this year made him the youngest (29) to win the Rumble since Brock Lesnar (25) in 2003. Randy Orton won in 2009 at age 29 but was well-established by then.

Other than these three, every Royal Rumble winner has been above 31 years old or older since 2001. It should be noted as well that Undertaker won in 2007 at age 41.

Stat No. 3

No one has won the Royal Rumble in back-to-back years since “Stone Cold” Steve Austin in 1997 and 1998. There has been multiple two-time winners since then in Cena and Batista.

Stat No. 4

The top 20 individual longest times in a single Royal Rumble only includes 5 winners: Randy Orton (2009), Mr. McMahon (1999), Ric Flair (1992), Rey Mysterio (2006) and Chris Benoit (2004). Wait, who’s the last guy?

So do these stats make an impact on the most likely candidates to win the 2016 Royal Rumble?

Next: Who Missed the Cut?