All 17 WWE Intercontinental Champions of the 2010’s So Far, Ranked

13 of 18


6. Dean Ambrose

Ever since The Shield split up, it seems as though Dean Ambrose has been living in the shadows of his former brothers’ singles runs. Despite that, though, Ambrose has managed to hold the Intercontinental Championship twice for a total of 216 days.

The Lunatic Fringe’s first run with the title came when he defeated Kevin Owens at TLC. Ambrose went on to defend his title in a feud with Kevin Owens, but Ambrose’s involvement in the main event scene called for Dean to eventually lose the title.

He lost the title but remained strong as Kevin Owens pinned Breeze for the championship instead of Ambrose. Ambrose’s involvement with the likes of Roman Reigns and Brock Lesnar also helped Ambrose elevate the title while he had it.

Ambrose’s second run with the belt was longer but less memorable. When he defeated The Miz for the Intercontinental Championship on an episode of SmackDown Live, the belt was in the spotlight.

However, Ambrose hardly ever defended the title due to his involvement in the Royal Rumble and Elimination Chamber match for the WWE Championship. When he finally defended the title against Baron Corbin, the belts significance dwindled and found itself on the kickoff show.

Ambrose did recover afterward when he moved to RAW. With Lesnar, the Universal Champion, not around, Ambrose made the Intercontinental Championship the top belt on the brand. His heated feud with The Miz that followed managed to seem fresh and exciting despite being repetitive.

Ambrose then lost the Intercontinental Championship to The Miz at Extreme Rules, but the former Shield member has done enough with the Intercontinental Championship and may be looking for another run as a main eventer.