NJPW G1 Climax 2017: 5 Best Choices to Win

5 of 6

2. Kazuchika Okada

The G1 Climax is unique in that the defending IWGP Heavyweight Champion also participates in tournament matches. Yet despite that participation, only two reigning champions have won the G1 Climax: Keiji Mutoh and Kensuke Sasaki. Both of these men have long since departed NJPW, which has left that record begging to be tampered with.

Okada winning the G1 Climax as champion would definitely be an unexpected twist. In doing so, Okada wouldn’t have to worry about a G1 Climax winner flaunting their briefcase in his face, as he would be both champion and tournament winner.

It would also break the repetition of the Wrestle Kingdom main event being decided so far in advance, as NJPW would have to find another way to bring about their challenger for the world champion.

With NJPW determined to turn Okada into the next true Japanese wrestling legend, having him win the G1 Climax while champion would certainly be a great way to go about doing that.